African Overland 4×4 Safari Tours Reviews

Check out the FaceBook Community Reviews for Southern African Overlan 4×4 Safari Tours here.

  • positive review  Full of energy, ideas and suggestions

    thumb Konstantin Zloshchastiev
    7/07/2019

    positive review  I recently did a Lesotho Overland trip with Safricaoverland. It was an awesome experience; an excellent way to experience the nature, people, culture and country of Lesotho. Accommodation was in basic but adequate lodges. The food was excellent. Ian has a few Landy’s; his pride and joy! The vehicles are well equipped and well maintained. Ian is a fantastic guide, very organised and very knowledgeable (especially about birds!). He is passionate about what he does and very enthusiastic to share his experiences and stories about his overland tours and Drakensberg hikes.

    thumb Hilde Minster
    6/29/2019

    positive review  Rugged and rustic, we set off in one of Ian Shooter's well maintained Land Rovers on a 5 day trip around Lesotho, heading into the country at Qacha's Nek and returning through Sani Pass, this was one of the best trips I have taken, and I had the privilege of having my family along, and Ian Shooter himself as our guide! Ian told us about the amazing geology, geography, fauna and flora, cooked amazing meals, introduced us to amazing people and had us exploring places we would never have thought to on our own! I fondly remember our stay in a little stone cottage overlooking the Mokhotlong River, being hosted by a wonder lady named Noma, a more salt of the earth person would be a rare find indeed, Ian had met Noma some time prior and the two have struck up such a warm welcoming friendship that this is a "not to be missed" stop for a good nights rest and hearty meal! This trip is rustic, but comfortable, with good food, great company and definitely one of the best ways to explore Lesotho.

    thumb Lloyd Jay Krause
    3/29/2019

    positive review  Trekking and Overland trip in Lesotho done with Ian in October 2018. What a worderful time spent with him. Great company, very well organised, 100% nature and fun. Highly recommeded

    thumb Arielle Olson-Loup
    2/07/2019

    5 star review  I cant think of a better way to explore Africa. Did a trip thorough southern Lesotho with Ian. We had a blast. The most amazing pristine campsites, total organised comfort with all the bells and whistles around the campfire (much better than any lodge....) and the safety and amazing knowledge on birds, local names, routes, assisting with 4x4 tips for those self drivers, local history and anecdotes and what my appetite hugely for Namibia, Botswana and beyond. A brilliant and safe way to explore Africa. Felt like we were doing it like the early explorers.

    thumb Grant Little
    6/24/2018

    5 star review  Thank you Ian for an amazing 12 days trip round Botswana and up to Vic' Falls. We loved every bit of it (um... maybe not the part were the Baboons were stealing all our stuff in the camping site) but it still is a fun story to tell to all our Friends 😉 We can not recommend traveling with Ian strongly enough (actually we even did two trips with him one hiking in the Drakensberg and one safari in Botswana). Everything was perfectly organised, safe and the cooking was great! If you are looking for some adventure, do not hesitate, Ian will prepare an unforgettable experience for you !!!

    thumb Ka Tharina
    9/08/2017

    5 star review  Was lucky enough to do a four night tour of the wild coast and it was amazing. Fantastic views, awesome food (Ian's signature chicken potjie!), great company and an extremely knowledgable guide in Ian Shooter. The pace was perfect with plenty of time for photo opportunities and a chinwag over dinner about the local flora and fauna. Highly recommended!

    thumb Rod Parbery
    6/29/2015

    5 star review  Thank you to Ian for an amazing week exploring the wild coast. The scenery was beautiful, sunsets, mountains, hole in the wall, coffee bay....watching the sunrise over the beach was incredible. Great company, great food and a whole lot of fun. Next time we come to Africa, we will definitely be booking onto another tour. Ian is so knowledgable and made us feel comfortable at all times. Great tour guide, highly recommended.

    thumb Amy Randall
    6/25/2015

    5 star review  Never been to the wild coast before and very glad I went with Ian Shooter to explore it for the first time. Awesome people, great music and yummy food. Very i formative and interesting. Loved that there was never a rush that a good photo(or 10) went a miss or to experience local culture. Can't wait for the next adventure!!

    thumb Cindy Eriksen-Miller
    6/24/2015

    5 star review  Just spent a week road tripping the wild coast and had the most amazing time! Mussels, crayfish, shad, sardine run. Pig cooked in a pit oven (basically a hole in the ground will hot coals, then covered with the same soil and cooked overnight. Amazing sun rises and sunsets. Astonishing views and an incredibly clued up guide. Would recommend anyone and everyone to do this trip. Next one will be through lesotho for four days....

    thumb Justin Eriksen-Miller
    6/24/2015
 +27 33-396 3906
 +27 72-947 1174
ian@safricaoverland.co.za